Overheard from the Dixit table

I was playing another game nearby, and then I heard a guy say, loudly, “I dislike the gays. In fact, you could say I hate the gays.” I almost fell out of my chair. And he repeated it several times! I couldn’t believe someone was talking like this in the middle of a game on Game Day, while playing Dixit, of all things.

It turns out his card had something to do with a chicken or something, and he was trying to get people to think of Chik-Fil-A, which, for those not familiar with delicious but politically lamentable fried chicken restaurants of the American South, is a delicious but politically lamentable fried chicken restaurant that had a scandal last year because they donated a ton of money to the effort to ban Marriage Equality in North Carolina, and there were boycotts, and protests, and Conservatives organized counter-protests, when they went there in large groups to eat, to support the place (which is always busy anyway).

The clue he was giving seemed awfully far-fetched, and apparently was, because no one guessed it, and no one was very impressed when he explained it to them.

People are so interesting sometimes. I’m so glad I took a +7 in Eavesdropping when I was a kid. It’s dead useful.

About Suzanna

Suzanna's passions are gaming, dogs, and writing. She also loves reading, travel, and cranberry juice. Above all else, she would have it be said that she is compassionate, funny, and too clever by half.
This entry was posted in Overheard and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overheard from the Dixit table

  1. frankiestein says:

    OH MY GAWD! I was ready to be hella pissed. That guy was foolish, but you’re funny!

  2. Pingback: The Most Important Advice You Will Receive All Day (Many Bothans in my head died to bring you this information) | once more to the table

Leave a Reply

