A Quick Bee in my Bonnet: Building CheapAss Games’ Agora

After reading the Skip-A-Turn review, I had been thinking about building Camden, the re-implement of the Grecian-themed Agora by CheapAss games, which can be downloaded for free on Drive Thru Cards. Then tonight I was looking at it, and looking at the original, and decided I might actually rather start with the old one. And once I decided this, I needed to do it right away. So I toddled over to the CheapAss download site for Agora and snagged it, and took it over to have the tile pages printed at Staples, to get a high quality print. It cost me $4, which I didn’t think was too bad, as my only new expense to build a game.

Gluing the back and front sheets to the chipboard to make the tiles.

I used ModPodge to glue the front and back sheets to 1/16″ (medium weight) chipboard. I went away for a few minutes to watch an episode of Big Bang Theory, and came back to find the glue dry.

Cutting out the tiles with the rotary cutter.

Then I used the guide marks on the edges of the tiles to cut the sheets into quarters, and then cut those in half to get my tiles. Amazingly, this all went without any mishaps or miscuts, and the project went smoothly.

All cut out! Let’s play!

At some point, I will need to come up with a better storage solution than bags, which is what I plan to do for now. I have a box that might fit, and I guess I could enlarge the artwork from the card backs and print it and glue it on the box top. That might work.

About Suzanna

Suzanna's passions are gaming, dogs, and writing. She also loves reading, travel, and cranberry juice. Above all else, she would have it be said that she is compassionate, funny, and too clever by half.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

